BackyardRC

A practical approach to RC planes

MiniTri Speed Tests

Today I skipped out of work 30 minutes early to beat the sundown and run some MiniTri speed tests. I’ve been tuning the PIDs and tweaking the setup for about two weeks on and off. I think I have it dialed in fairly well. I’m still having some minor issues were the Tri over corrects for the weight of the go-pro and pitches. It most often happens when the craft is changing speed.

But overall the trip is flying really well. It’s hard to judge the speed from the video but it is quick. I have been flying a set of GWS 6×3 props and I have not had much luck with them. At high RPMs I get some nasty vibration sounds and fear I’m about to shatter the prop. So in the video above I only hit about 75% throttle.

If anyone out there knows of a good set of 6×3 props please let me know! I am not planning on purchasing the 6×3 GWS props again. Which is funny because the 5×3 GWS props on the Blackout are great! I have yet to have a problem with them.

Anyway I had fun burning through two quick batteries and I hope you enjoy watching the results!

-Miles

3 responses to “MiniTri Speed Tests

  1. purpleskiesrc November 8, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    Hey Miles!

    I assume you are running a 3s on the 2000kv Cobra’s. You can actually bump up the props to 7″ers or even 8″. I’m running 8″ props cut to 7″ on my tri. The 7″ props are much stiffer and are easier to balance. Awesome punch outs and lots of power. Motors are 1900kv, so they are pretty much identical to yours. Chris from Armattan Quads runs 8″ props on his 1800kv motors, and they are doing fine. The Cobras you are using are of much higher quality than his motors, so they should have no problem with 7″ props.

    Just be careful about punching the throttle 😛 It doesn’t take long before the tri is out of sight!
    Matt

  2. miles November 8, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    Thank you Matt,

    I have some APC 7 inch props here. I’ll have to try them out tomorrow. I had mine out today and it was a blast. I took the gopro off and it was a bullet.

    The real reason I have the 6 inch props on is that I was hoping to get a four cell on the tri and really get some speed. But in reality the 3 cell is more than enough.

    Anyway. Your blog posts are looking great. Keep up the good work. Hope you get Nick’s kit up in the are soon!

    Miles

  3. RC_Flying November 8, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    Many people have complained about the Gemfan 6030 props making loud noises and breaking midflight.Many of them have switched over to HQ 6045 Props.

Leave a Reply

