BackyardRC

A practical approach to RC planes

Quadcopter Crazy

Arducopter!

Arducopter!

I didn’t want to sink too much money or time into my first quad. Everyone knows there is a bit of a learning curve and the first new airframe is bound to get a bit thrashed. And in typical fashion I have a hard time spending a small pile of money on airframe designed for the masses that might only fit about 1/2 of my needs. Plus DIY is always more fun.

Over the next few posts I’ll document my build process and highlight challenges and failures. In the end I hope I can help straighten the learning curve a bit for others.

So here is the plan: Build a simple quadcopter around 8×4 props and HobbyKings Park 300 motor. I’m hoping to build a solid quad to carry my GoPro. I am also going to use the arducopter flight system as training wheels much like I did when getting into RC planes.

What I purchased:

Total cost: $142.98

As soon as all of the gear arrives I’ll start the build. Stay Tuned!!

UPDATE:

Follow the full build process from the beginning:

5 responses to “Quadcopter Crazy

  1. Pingback: One man’s junk is another man’s treasure. – Quadcopter build continued | BackyardRC

  2. Pingback: Motors, Mounts, and Arms | BackyardRC

  3. Pingback: Quadcopter Build Goes 3D | BackyardRC

  4. Pingback: Page not found | BackyardRC

  5. Pingback: A wise man designs twice and prints once | BackyardRC

Leave a Reply

